UMNO Polls: Ku Li defends Gua Musang division chief post held since 1962

19/03/2023 01:07 AM

KUALA LUMPUR, March 18 (Bernama) -- The UMNO divisional meetings and elections, as well as polls for the Supreme Council positions, were held today, involving 191 divisions. 

Although the full results have yet to be announced, the spotlight was trained on several divisions, among them Gua Musang division chief Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah’s win to once again retain the post he has held since 1962. 

Fondly known as Ku Li, the political veteran garnered 453 votes while challengers Che Mohd Izani Che Musa and Datuk Saari Lembut obtained 46 and five votes respectively. 

Tengku Razaleigh first held the post of Gua Musang UMNO chief at the age of 25, making him the longest-serving party division chief in national history. 

The contest for the 2023-2026 term was only the second time Tengku Razaleigh had been challenged for the post. 

In NEGERI SEMBILAN, UMNO deputy president Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan also retained the Rembau division chief’s post after winning it uncontested. He has held the post since 2003. 

In KEDAH, UMNO vice-president Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid successfully defended the Padang Terap division chief’s post. 

In KELANTAN, State UMNO chairman Datuk Ahmad Jazlan Yaakub faced no challengers and retained the Machang division chief’s post.

Also retaining their division chief’s posts uncontested were deputy state chairman Tan Sri Mohd Fatmi Mohd Salleh (Kota Bahru division), Datuk Zawawi Othman (Pasir Puteh), Kok Lanas assemblyman Datuk Md Alwi Che Ahmad (Ketereh) and Datuk Zaluzi Sulaiman (Pengkalan Chepa).

In TERENGGANU, UMNO state chairman Datuk Seri Ahmad Said successfully defended his Kemaman UMNO division chief post for the 2023-2026 term today.

The former Terengganu Menteri Besar Terengganu and Kijal assemblyman obtained 401 votes, defeating his challenger, Datuk Mohamed Rahim Hussin, who got 286 votes.

In PAHANG, Dewan Rakyat Deputy Speaker Datuk Ramli Mohd Nor won the Cameron Highlands vice-chief post uncontested while former Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Mohd Shahar Abdullah was elected Paya Besar UMNO division chief.

In JOHOR, UMNO secretary-general Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan beat former Johor Menteri Besar Johor Datuk Seri Hasni Mohammad as Pontian UMNO division chief. 

Ahmad, 56, who was division vice-chief since 2008, won 388 votes compared to his rival, who got 291 votes.

Meanwhile, Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said defended her post as Pengerang UMNO Division chief that she has held since 2008, obtaining 261 votes against her rival, businessman Datuk Mhd Tahir Mohd Noah, who managed only 10 votes.

Unfortunately, the Johor Bahru UMNO Division election held at Hotel New York here today was suspended after additional voting papers were found.

Johor Bahru UMNO chairman Azmi Samin said the number of votes exceeded the number of delegates present.

Datuk Lokman Noor Adam, who was just reinstated to the party a month ago, lost to Datuk Mohd Lassim Burhan for the position of Sir Gading UMNO Division chief.

Mohd Lassim, the previous division vice-chief, obtained 333 votes compared to Lokman’s 169 votes.

In KEDAH, former Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Bashah Md Hanipah made a successful comeback by winning the Alor Setar UMNO Division chief position, beating his rival, acting division chief Zambri Mat.

According to unofficial results, the son of former prime minister, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, Datuk Mohd Nazifuddin, has won the Langkawi UMNO Division chief post, beating his rival, former Kuah assemblyman Nor Saidi Nanyan by 12 votes.

Former UMNO vice-president Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid was the sole UMNO Division chief in Kedah to have won uncontested this time.


BERNAMA provides up-to-date authentic and comprehensive news and information which are disseminated via BERNAMA Wires; www.bernama.com; BERNAMA TV on the Astro 502, unifi TV 631 and MYTV 121 IFLIX channels and BERNAMA Radio on the FM93.9 (Klang Valley), FM107.5 (Johor), FM107.9 (Kota Kinabalu) and RM100.9 (Kuching) frequencies.

Follow us on social media :
Facebook : @bernamaofficial, @bernamatv, @bernamaradio
Twitter : @bernama.com, @BernamaTV, @bernamaradio
Instagram : @bernamaofficial, @bernamatvofficial, @bernamaradioofficial
TikTok : @bernamaofficial

© 2023 BERNAMA   • Disclaimer   • Privacy Policy   • Security Policy