MCMC seizes 58 uncertified communication equipment [ 4m ago ]

Muhammad Syahmi bags best goal award at AFF Awards Night

Last update: 09/11/2019
KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 8 -- National defender Muhammad Syahmi Safari won the Best Goal Award of AFF Suzuki Cup at the Asean Football Federation (AFF) Awards Night in Hanoi, Vietnam tonight.

To add icing on the cake, the 21-year-old Selangor player was also selected into the 2018 AFF Suzuki Cup Best XI, which include two other national players -- Mohamed Syamer Kutty Abba and Norshahrul Idlan Talaha.

Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) secretary-general Stuart Ramalingam received the award on behalf of Muhammad Syahmi during the award presentation, according to the latest entry posted in FAM Facebook page.

For the record, Muhammad Syahmi scored the goal from outside the box after a slick passing move in the 28th minute during the second leg semi-finals match of 2018 AFF Suzuki Cup Tournament between Malaysia and Thailand at the Rajamangala Stadium in Bangkok on Dec 5 last year.

Prior to this, FAM had sent nominations to the International Football Federation (FIFA) for Muhammad Syahmi Safari's goal for this year's FIFA Puskas Award.

Roll of Honours:

Player of the Year:

Men- Nguyen Quang Hai (Vietnam)

Women- Pitsamai Sornsai (Thailand)

Youth Player of the Year: Suphanat Mueanta (Thailand)

National Team of the Year:

Men - Thailand

Women- Vietnam

Coaches of the Year:

Men- Park Hang Seo (Vietnam national team head coach)

Women- Nuengrutai Srathongvian (Ratchaburi Mitr Phol head coach)

Referee of the Year:

Men- Sivakorn Pu-Udom (Thailand)

Women- Katherine Margaret Jacewicz (Australia)

Assistant Referee of the Year:

Men- Ronnie Koh Min Kiat (Singapore)

Women- Supawan Hinthong (Thailand)

Futsal Team of the Year: Thailand men's team

Futsal Player of the Year: Tran Van Vu (Vietnam)

Member Association of the Year: Indonesian Football Association (PSSI)

Best Goal Award of AFF Suzuki Cup: MUHAMMAD SYAHMI SAFARI (Malaysia)

AFF Suzuki Cup Best XI:

Dang Van Lam, Que Ngoc Hai and Nguyen Quang Hai (Vietnam), Korrakot Wiriya-Udomsiri and Sanrawat Dechmitr (Thailand), Riko Simanjuntak (Indonesia), Muhammad Safuwan Baharuddin (Singapore), Stephan Shrock (Philippines), Muhammad Syahmi Safari, Mohamed Syamer Kutty Abba and Norshahrul Idlan Talaha (Malaysia).


       Previous Top Story