138,901 illegals sent home under B4G programme as deadline looms [ 2m ago ]

Malaysian Tigers to join Tokyo Olympics test event

Last update: 13/08/2019
KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 13 (Bernama) -- The men's national hockey squad will be leaving for Tokyo tomorrow to participate in the “Ready Steady Tokyo” test event from Aug 17 to 21 at Oi Hockey Stadium in Tokyo as part of Japan's preparations to host the 2020 Olympics.

The Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC) in a statement today said the squad fresh from finishing nine matches in the European Tour Series will be leaving at noon.

“Apart from Malaysia, the test event will also see world number five, India, New Zealand (ranked eighth in the world), and hosts, Japan (World number 16) in the tournament.

"The test event will be played in a round robin with the top two teams moving to the final while the two other teams will compete for the third and fourth placings,” it said.

Hockey is among 56 test events which will be held around Tokyo as Japan's preparations to ensure the locations and operation procedures are on the best track before the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Following is the list of 18 players in action at the test tournament:

Goalkeeper: S.Kumar and Muhammad Hafizuddin Othman

Defence: Mohamad Sukri Abdul Mutalib, Faiz Helmi Jali, Syed Mohamad Syafiq Syed Cholan, Muhammad Najmi Farizal Jazlan, Nabil Fiqri Mohd Noor dan Luqman Nul Hakim Ahmad Shukran

Midfield: Muhammad Marhan Mohd Jalil, Nik Muhammad Aiman Nik Rozemi, Meor Muhammad Azuan Hasan, Mohamad Ashran Hamsani, Muhammad Azrai Aizad Abu Kamal dan Muhammad Amirol Aideed Mohd Arshad, manakala bagi penyerang, Norshafiq Sumantri, Muhammad Shahril Saabah, Muhammad Noor Firdaus Rosdi dan Mohamad Akhimullah Anuar Esook.

Schedule of matches for the national squad (Malaysian time):

Aug 17: India vs Malaysia (5.30 pm)

Aug 18: Malaysia vs Japan (5.30 pm)

Aug 20: Malaysia vs New Zealand (8.30 am)

Aug 21: Third and Fourth placing playoff (8.30 am ) and final (11 am).


       Previous Top Story