COVID–19 NEWS   Badminton: Malaysia Open postponed due to surge in COVID-19 cases | Police reject 583 applications for inter-state travel at LTSAAS | 70,000 IPT students return home in stages from today - Noraini | MCO: Tarawih, Aidilfitri prayers allowed in Federal Territories - Jawi | COVID: EMCO imposed at two localities in Julau, Sarawak | 

Japan approves RCEP agreement

28/04/2021 12:55 PM

TOKYO, April 28 -- Japan's parliament on Wednesday approved the world's largest free trade deal, signed by 15 Asia-Pacific countries including China and the 10 members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP), signed in November 2020, groups ASEAN's member countries as well as China, Japan, South Korea, Australia and New Zealand, Xinhua news agency reported.

It is the world's largest free trade zone across a wide assortment of indicators, and its 15 member states are home to 2.27 billion people, with a total gross domestic product of US$26 trillion and total exports of US$5.2 trillion.

The RCEP will come into effect 60 days after it is ratified by six of the ASEAN members and three of the other countries.


© 2021 BERNAMA   • Disclaimer   • Privacy Policy   • Security Policy