COVID–19 NEWS   Badminton: Malaysia Open postponed due to surge in COVID-19 cases | Police reject 583 applications for inter-state travel at LTSAAS | 70,000 IPT students return home in stages from today - Noraini | MCO: Tarawih, Aidilfitri prayers allowed in Federal Territories - Jawi | COVID: EMCO imposed at two localities in Julau, Sarawak | 

Norismadi is new SAM President

12/04/2021 07:12 PM

KUALA LUMPUR, April 12  -- Radio Televisyen Malaysia (RTM) programme producer Norismadi Abd Manap has won the Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM) president’s post for the 2020-2023 term by a single vote.

Norismadi obtained 47 votes to the incumbent Datuk Jasni Shafie’s 46, while one vote was spoiled during the re-election at the Akademi Badminton Malaysia (ABM) here today.

The re-election was held after both candidates were tied with 51 votes apiece at the triennial general meeting of the SAM Executive Committee (Exco) at a hotel in Kelana Jaya on April 3. The Exco then decided to hold the re-election for the top post today. 

Meanwhile, Norismadi said he would forge a collective collaboration with the new SAM leadership to drive the association forward.

He also felt that the cooperation between SAM and the Youth and Sports Ministry needed to be increased, especially in facilitating media personnel covering prestigious sports events, such as the Tokyo Olympics in July. 


List of new SAM Exco line-up



President: Norismadi Abd Manap (RTM)

Deputy President: Ahmed Faisal Jamal (RTM)

Vice-Presidents: Mohd Hazreen Nor Mubarak (TV3), Mohd Hafizal Hamad (Astro Arena)

Secretary-General: Asan Ahmad (hubmedia) 

Treasurer: Azhari Mohd Yusop (Sports Images Malaysia)

Exco: Zuriati Zulmi (Bernama), Ku Mohd Lufti Ku Yahya (Sports247), Mohammad Rozaidi Zulkifl (Utusan Malaysia), Wan Nor Bazly Wan Azmi (Astro Arena), Ajitpal Singh Dhaliwal (NST).




© 2021 BERNAMA   • Disclaimer   • Privacy Policy   • Security Policy