GE15 NEWS   Kudat Independent MP backs unity government | Hamas leader congratulates Anwar on appointment as PM | GRS will abide by Agong 's decision on formation of unity govt - Hajiji | Zahid, Wan Azizah, Loke win while Saifuddin, Rezal Merican lose | 

PBRS to abide by BN decision in the interest of a stable government - Arthur

24/11/2022 12:21 PM

KOTA KINABALU, Nov 24 (Bernama) -- Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS) will abide by whatever decision is taken by Barisan Nasional (BN) in the interest of forming a stable government, said party deputy president Datuk Arthur Joseph Kurup.

However, the Pensiangan Member of Parliament (MP) stressed that whatever the decision is, it must be done through the proper channels and properly endorsed as a BN decision, because all mandates are as BN MPs.

He said for the time being, the BN Supreme Council has never officially supported or opposed any side yet, and the last BN Supreme Council decision was for BN to remain neutral and as an opposition.

“That (BN Supreme Council decision) has not been changed. PBRS takes note of the latest UMNO statement. Now it has to be endorsed by BN,” he said in a statement here today.

Last night UMNO secretary-general Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan said the party supports the idea of being part of a Unity Government, as proposed by Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah, but not one that is led by Perikatan Nasional (PN).

Arthur said the solidarity within BN must be maintained as the people are looking to BN to contribute to form a stable government.

“Because the Palace wants all of us to work together to form a stable and united government for Malaysia, we will need to reconsider our position so that our country can form a stable government. We cannot leave this hanging and we must do what is best for our people and country,” he said.

In the 15th General Election (GE15) on Saturday, BN only won 30 parliamentary seats, its worst ever performance in its history, while PH captured 82 seats, PN (73), Gabungan Parti Sarawak (23), Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (six), Parti Warisan (three), Independents (two) while Parti Bangsa Malaysia and Parti Kesejahteraan Demokratik Masyarakat won one seat each.

The GE15 result meant no one party nor political bloc managed to get a majority, resulting in a hung Parliament.

A Special Meeting of the Malay Rulers will be held  today to discuss the formation of the new government.


Bernama provides the latest authentic and comprehensive news and information to media agencies and the public. The news and information is disseminated via the website; BERNAMA TV broadcasts on the Astro 502, unifi TV 631 and MYTV 121 IFLIX channels as well as BERNAMA Radio on the FM93.9 frequency in the Klang Valley, FM107.5 in Johor, FM107.9 in Kota Kinabalu and FM100.9 in Kuching.

Follow us on social media :
Facebook : @bernamaofficial, @bernamatv, @bernamaradio
Twitter :, @BernamaTV, @bernamaradio
Instagram : @bernamaofficial, @bernamatvofficial, @bernamaradioofficial
TikTok : @bernamaofficial

© 2022 BERNAMA   • Disclaimer   • Privacy Policy   • Security Policy