COVID–19 NEWS   Dewan Rakyat special sitting on Monday postponed over COVID-19 risks | Latest count of COVID-19 cases in Southeast Asia | Ismail Sabri fears rally may cause further spread of COVID-19 | Shift focus back to COVID-19 pandemic, say coalition parties information chiefs | COVID: Two more community clusters detected in Sarawak | 

COVID: Sarawak tightens entry procedures to contain VOC outbreak

25/06/2021 09:17 PM

KUCHING, June 25 -- Sarawak has tightened the procedures for entry into the state effective immediately to curb the outbreak of COVID-19 Variants of Concern (VOC).

The Sarawak State Disaster Management Committee (JPBN) said travellers from India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Sri Lanka were required to undergo the RT-PCR test three days before departure and upon arrival at the International Entry Point, as well as to undergo the mandatory quarantine for 21 days at the First Point of Entry.

“Their RT-PCR test on the 18th day must be confirmed negative before being allowed to enter Sarawak and they must also make an application through the EnterSarawak system. These travellers will be quarantined until the result of their first RT-PCR test in Sarawak is also confirmed negative,” JPBN said in a statement today.

For travellers from other countries, they are required to undergo the RT-PCR test and mandatory quarantine for 14 days.

“They need to have a negative result for the RT-PCR test on the 10th day of quarantine and make an application through the EnterSarawak system. They will also need to undergo seven-day quarantine in Sarawak and take another COVID-19 test on the fourth day of the quarantine,” the statement read.

Meanwhile, those who have been in Labuan within the last 21 days are not allowed to enter Sarawak for the time being, except for emergency matters and must obtain prior approval from the Sarawak JPBN.

For individuals who returned from other states, they are required to provide a negative result of the RT-PCR test which was taken three days before their entry into the state.

“They need to apply for entry permission through the EnterSarawak system and undergo the mandatory quarantine for 14 days in Sarawak where they will be tested for COVID-19 again on the 10th day of the quarantine,” the statement added.

Sarawak recorded 673 new COVID-19 cases today, 423 of which were detected in Sibu, Kuching, Kanowit, Bintulu and Sarikei, and four fatalities which bring the death toll in the state to 396.





Bernama is the trusted source of reliable real-time comprehensive and accurate news for both the public and media practitioners. Our news is published at ; BERNAMA TV on: Astro Channel 502, unifi TV Channel 631, MYTV Channel 121 IFLIX; and Bernama Radio broadcasting locally on FM93.9 in Klang Valley, Johor (FM107.5), Kota Kinabalu (FM107.9) and Kuching (FM100.9).

Follow us on social media :
Facebook : @bernamaofficial, @bernamatv, @bernamaradio
Twitter :, @BernamaTV, @bernamaradio
Instagram : @bernamaofficial, @bernamatvofficial, @bernamaradioofficial
TikTok : @bernamaofficial

© 2021 BERNAMA   • Disclaimer   • Privacy Policy   • Security Policy