COVID–19 NEWS   COVID: Three longhouses in Sarawak placed under EMCO | COVID: Three longhouses in Sarawak placed under EMCO | GAPP proposes counselling for tour bus drivers affected by COVID | COVID: New cases increase to 4,519 Saturday | UMNO will not push for snap GE if COVID stuation not good, says Tajuddin | 

COVID: 3,418 new cases reported Sunday - Health DG

02/05/2021 09:54 PM

KUALA LUMPUR, May 2 -- The number of new COVID-19 cases jumped to 3,418 over the last 24 hours compared to 2,881 cases yesterday.

Health director-general Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah, in his tweet, said the cumulative number of COVID-19 positive cases in the country now stood at 415,012.

He said Selangor has the highest number of new cases with 1,200 cases, followed by Sarawak (587) and Kelantan (400).

Johor recorded 213 cases; Kuala Lumpur (198); Terengganu (184); Penang (145); Sabah (115); Kedah (101); Perak (77); Negeri Sembilan (73); Melaka (61); Pahang (45); Putrajaya (eight); Labuan (seven) and Perlis (four).

Dr Noor Hisham, in a statement, said that in the last 24 hours a total of 2,698 recovered cases were recorded, bringing the cumulative number of recoveries to 383,140, while active cases stood at 30,339.

He said that a total of 345 cases were being treated in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU), with 175 of them requiring respiratory assistance, while a total of 12 deaths were recorded bringing the total number of fatalities due to the outbreak to 1,533 people.

He said that 11 new clusters were identified, involving five community clusters, four education sector clusters (including two clusters of educational institutions of the Ministry of Education (MOE)) and two workplace clusters.

The community clusters are the Sungai Tengah Cluster, Sungai Sebemban Cluster and Sebujok Cluster in Sarawak; Jalan Sri Putri 12 Cluster, Johor and Jalan Emas Cluster, Melaka, while the education clusters are Sains Bakam Cluster, Sarawak; Kiara Jaya Cluster, Kedah; Jalan Junjong Cluster, Kedah and Limau Karangan Cluster, Kedah.

“The workplace clusters are the Kasawari Sembilan Cluster and the Persiaran Raja Cluster in Selangor,” he said.

Dr Noor Hisham said that 10 clusters have been declared ended today, bringing the total number of clusters declared ended to 1,284, while the number of active clusters was 396.

He said that the 10 clusters that were declared ended were the Lorong Mulia Cluster; Jalan Alamanda Cluster; Jalan Padang Cluster; Taman Brick Cluster; Jalan Kemajuan Cluster; Jalan Suasana Cluster; Wakaf Chagak Cluster; Jalan Teluk Kumbar Cluster; Kampung Batu Lapan Lekir Cluster and Sungai Mupong Cluster.

On the first case involving the Indian variant of B.1.617.1 (P1), which was detected from an Indian national who underwent a screening test at the Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA), Dr Noor Hisham explained that the individual had been isolated and was receiving treatment.

He stressed that Malaysia had imposed a temporary ban on non-citizen travellers from India and extended the quarantine period of 14 days to Malaysian citizens travelling from India since April 28.

Apart from the Indian variant, the Health Ministry has also detected another 30 COVID-19 variants of concern (VOC) in Malaysia, namely, 27 of the South African variant (B.1.351) and three of the United Kingdom (UK) variant (B.117).




© 2021 BERNAMA   • Disclaimer   • Privacy Policy   • Security Policy