- Tough Competition For National Sports Awards
malay english mandarin arabic espanol fb tw ig


Tough Competition For National Sports Awards

Last update: 06/03/2018
KUALA LUMPUR, March 6 (Bernama) -- Eight world champions are among those vying for the coveted National Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year for 2017 at the National Sports Awards Ceremony to be held on March 13.

Youth and Sports Ministry secretary-general Datuk Lokman Hakim Ali said the competition to win the grand prize was fierce due to the outstanding performance of the athletes at the world-level as well as the SEA Games and ASEAN Para Games (KL2017).

He said most athletes had performed well and excelled under the National Sports Council (NSC) and the National Sports Institute (NSI) to become the champions of the SEA Games, with a 145-gold medal tally - the highest in the country's history.

"The main criteria (for assessment) will be their performance in world championships and their consistency in each competition they participated in throughout 2017.

"The eight world champions nominated for the awards are Mohd Azizulhasni Awang (cycling), Wong Weng Son (wushu), Muhammad Ziyad Zolkefli and Abdul Latif Romly (para athletics), Cheah Liek Hou (para badminton), S.Sivasangari (squash) Cheong Jun Hoong (diving), and Koi Sie Yan (rhythmic gymnastics)," he said.....


       Previous Top Story