- 21 Teams To Do Battle At Istaf Super Series Finals
malay english mandarin arabic espanol fb tw ig


21 Teams To Do Battle At Istaf Super Series Finals

Last update: 07/02/2014
KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 7 (Bernama) -- A total of 21 teams including eight women teamS will be vying for honours in the 2013 International Sepak Takraw Federation (Istaf) Super Series Finals to be held at the Titiwangsa Indoor Stadium here from March 5 to 9.

Istaf Secretary-General Datuk Abdul Halim Kader said France would be making their debut in the premier sepak takraw tournament which is jointly organised by the Sepak Takraw Association of Malaysia (PSM) and supported by Singapore-based company, Asia Sports Ventures Pte Ltd as the commercial rights holders of the tournament.

"We have agreed to grant France a wild card entry to participate in this tournament in a bid to promote sepak takraw outside the Asian continent and further develop and strengthen this sport on the international stage," he told reporters, here, today.

The 13 teams in the men's category comprise Thailand (defending champion), Brunei, China, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, South Korea, Singapore, United States, France, Myanmar and Malaysia.

While for women's category, Thailand, also the defending champions, will be joined by China, India, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Vietnam and Malaysia.....


       Previous Top Story