- Peter Ahern Is Champion For The Fourth Time At 2014 RLIR
malay english mandarin arabic espanol fb tw ig


Peter Ahern Is Champion For The Fourth Time At 2014 RLIR

Last update: 18/01/2014
LANGKAWI, Jan 18 (Bernama) -- Australia's three- time champion (2003-2005) Peter Ahern won his fourth championship in the racing category at the 12th edition of the 2014 Royal Langkawi International Regatta (RLIR) here Saturday.

After an eight-year hiatus, the head of 'Oi!' team confirmed his victory without having to complete the last race as the points he had gathered could not be overtaken by five other competing teams.

'Oi!' won the coveted Prime Minister Challenge Trophy after collecting 15 penalty points, overcoming second placed 'Jelik' of Hong Kong (17 penalty points).

The national team, 'Uranus' from the Malysian Armed Forces (ATM) maintained its third place with 25 penalty points and another ATM team, Utarid, in fourth place (30 penalty points).

"I am very happy because after eight years of not taking part in RLIR, my participation this time has borne fruit. Furthermore, we used a new boat this year which was bought nine months ago," Ahern told reporters after completing the race at the Royal Langkawi Yachting Club (RLYC).....


       Previous Top Story