Australia, Belgium, Malaysia, Ukraine, Holland To Sign Document On MH17 In New York

Last update: 14/09/2017

By Nabilah Saleh

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 14 (Bernama) -- Foreign Ministers of the countries whose investigative authorities together make up the Joint Investigation Team (JIT) -- Australia, Belgium, Malaysia, Ukraine and the Netherlands will sign a document in the case of Boeing 777 flight MH17 in New York, next week.

Ukrainian Ambassador to Malaysia Olexander Nechytaylo said the document which defines detailed steps and actions for all participated countries, will be held on the sidelines of 72nd United Nations General Assembly (UNGA).

"The countries remain fully committed to taking effective measures and to investigate. Ukraine with JIT team is still working very closely and this document will specify in depth, which is one of many channels that we're working on currently," Nechytaylo told Bernama in an interview at the news agency's headquarters here, recently.

The Malaysia Airlines flight from Amsterdam to Kuala Lumpur crashed in eastern Ukraine on July 17, 2014, killing all 298 on board.

International investigators have said the flight was shot down by a Russia-supplied missile system that was fired from territory held by Russian-backed fighters.....