Indonesia's Election Commission To Hold Recapitulation Of Overseas Votes

JAKARTA, July 17 (Bernama) -- The Central General Elections Commission (KPU) is scheduled to commence vote recapitulation of the presidential election conducted in 96 overseas countries on Thursday, Indonesia's Antara news agency reported.

"We will carry out the recapitulation of overseas votes today. The recapitulation is based on Model D-1, which is the result of vote counting in polling stations abroad (TPSLN) and drop boxes," KPU Chairman Husni Kamil Manik said Thursday.

The implementation of voting and counting abroad is organised by the KPU in collaboration with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

According to Antara during the execution of overseas election from July 4 to 6, the Overseas Election Committee (PPLN) encountered an array of problems.

"Problems were encountered during the implementation of voting abroad, especially in Hong Kong, Los Angeles, and Malaysia. It will be submitted by the PPLN Working Group and is expected to be part of the discussion of plenary meeting," Antara quoted Husni as saying.

The recapitulation of overseas votes is scheduled to last until Friday.

"We hope that we can work effectively. We target that the recapitulation process can be completed by July 18," Manik said.

The overseas election voting process took place in 130 PPLN offices spread across 96 countries, with a total number of 498 TPSLN.

According to Antara, the number of people in the foreign voters list (DPTLN) is about 2,038,711.

The method of voting was facilitated in three ways: through TPSLN, system of drop boxes, and postal mail.

According to the Chairman of the PPLN Working Group Wahid Supriyadi, 410,975 voters exercised their franchise through TPSLN, while 698,669 voters used drop boxes, and about 929,067 voters used postal mail.

The number of ballot papers sent by the Central KPU through the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to 130 PPLN offices was about 2,079,485.

The election is contested by the Prabowo Subianto-Hatta Rajasa pair and the Joko Widodo-Jusuf Kalla duo.

According to the KPU, a total of 190,307,134 voters have been registered, which included 2,038,711 overseas voters, with 486,866 polling stations across the archipelago.


We provide (subscription-based) 
news coverage in our
Newswire service.